West Singhbhum district came into existence when the old Singhbhum District bifurcated in 1990. With 9 Community Development Blocks Eastern part became the East Singhbhum with Jamshedpur as its district Hqr. and with remaining 23 C.D.Blocks West Singhbhum with Chaibasa as its district Hqr. In 2001 West Singhbhum again divided in two parts. With 8 Blocks Saraikela-Kharsawan district came into existence. At present West Singhbhum remain with 15 blocks and two administrative Sub-divisions. The district is full of hills alternating with valleys, steep mountains, and deep forests on the mountain slopes. The district contains one of the best Sal forests and the SARANDA ( seven hundred hills) forest area is known world over. Scenically it is beautiful with water holes and also contains wild life like Elephants, Bison, rarely found tigers & panthers, bear, wild dogs, wild pigs. Sambhar, deer and spotted deer are also found but their numbers are decreasing in the forests adjoining habitation. There are two accounts relating to the origin of the name of the district. According to one the name Singhbhum, or the lands of "SINGHS" has been derived from the patronymic of the Singh Rajas of Porahat. The second account suggests that the name is a corrupt form of the SinghBonga the Principal deity of tribal population of the district.


   West Singhbhum district forms the Southern part of the newly created Jharkhand State and is the largest district in the State. The district spread over 210 58' AND 230 36' north latitude and 850 0' & 860 54' East Longitude. The district is situated at a height of 244 Meter above the sea level and has an area of 5351.41 Sq. Kilometers. The district is bounded on the North by the district of Khunti , on the East by Saraikela-Kharsawan district, on the South by Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj and Sundargarh districts of Orissa and on the West by the district of Simdega and Sundargarh (in Orissa).


    Some of the important Rivers flowing in the district are :

  1. Koel
  2. Karo-Koina
  3. Kharkai
  4. Sanjai
  5. Raro
  6. Deo
  7. Baitarini


    The year may be divided into three seasons; the winter from NOV-FEB, the summer from MAR-MAY, and the rainy season from JUN-OCT. The cold season is delightful while it is unpleasantly hot in the summer season with hot westerly winds prevailing. On account of the barrier of hills in the southeast, the atmosphere is generally dry. The Rainfall is the highest in July and August. The annual avg. rainfall in the district is about 1422 mm. Monsoon generally breaks in the second week of June. December-January are the coldest months while April-May are the hottest.


    The greater part of West Singhbhum district is covered by the iron-ore series. The following minerals are found in the district:

  • Chromites
  • Magnetite
  • Manganese
  • Kainite
  • Lime Stone
  • Iron Ore
  • Asbestos
  • Soap-stone


    The soil of the district has been classified into three groups Rocky Soil, Red Soil and Black Soil. Rocky soil is found mostly in the Southern, Western & North-Western portions of the district. It remains practically uncultivated. Red soil is spread throughout the district. It is sandy and loamy and has poor fertility. Black soil is mostly found in the lowlands of Kolhan. The texture of soil is loamy and clayey and is very fertile. Rice is the main crop of the district.


    After division of Singhbhum district into 3 parts, West Singhbhum district remain with almost nil in Industrial activity. The A.C.C., Jhinkpani is the only industry in the district. The other industrial activities are BIRI making at Chakradharpur. There are a few establishments both in the rural and urban areas of the district engaged in manufacturing Tobacco products, Flour mills, Rice mills, Saw mills etc.



  1. Chaibasa-Ranchi
  2. Chaibasa-Jainthgarh
  3. Chaibasa-Hata
  4. Chaibasa-Saraikela
  1. Chaibasa-Bharbharia
  2. Hatgamharia-Gua
  3. Singhpokhria-Parsa
  4. Chakradharpur-Sonua
  5. Anandpur-Manoharpur
  6. Chaibasa-Bhoya
  1. Tantnagar-Bharbharia
  2. Hatgamharia-Benisagar
  3. Manjhgaon-Jagannathpur


    HOWRAH-NAGPUR main line of the S.E. Rly. traverse the district from East to West. Chakradharpur is one of the Railway Division exists in the district. RAJKHARSAWAN-CHAIBASA-GUA railway line is used mainly for mineral transportations.


    West Singhbhum district is replete with it's rich natural resources. These are mostly either minerals or forest produce. The important trade centers are 1. Chaibasa - Food grain 2. Chakradharpur - Timber, Bamboo, Biri and Shellac 3. Barajamda - Manganese ore, Iron Ore and Forest produce 4. Gua, Noamundi - Iron Ore & Timber, 5. Manoharpur,Sonua, Goilkera - Timber 6. Hatgamharia - China Clay. The Haats and Melas of the district are very important trade Centres. There are weekly Haats in almost every important area and are basic Centres for feeding bigger trade Centres.


    The majority of the population in West Singhbhum district is tribal population. The Scheduled Tribes residing in the district are - Asur, Baiga, Banjara, Bathudi, Bedia, Binhia, Birhor, Gond, Gorait, Ho, Kumali, Kharia, Kharwar, Khond, Kisen, Chero, Chik Baraik, Lohara, Mahli Munda, Oraon, Parhaiya, Kora, Korwa, Santhal, Sawar, Bhumij etc.

GO TO TOP>>      << BACK